Aesthetics Awards – Highlights

The Aesthetics Awards 2021

On May 28 the Aesthetics Awards took place, reflecting on the achievements of practitioners, clinics, products and companies over the last 12 months.

The specialty was given the chance to be recognised and receive prestigious Winner, Highly Commended or Commended accolades. It’s been a tough time for the aesthetics industry due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and it was amazing to finally see everyone come together to celebrate, with a total of 1,400 virtual attendees! Despite being held as a virtual ceremony this year, the event was a huge success, and we look forward to another live event in 2022.


All over the UK and Ireland, individuals within the specialty took part in their own mini celebrations while they streamed the ceremony over Zoom. Here’s what some of our viewers thought of the evening!

“Although we missed seeing all our friends in person, our team thoroughly enjoyed the virtual Aesthetics Awards and felt engaged and included throughout. The professionalism, hard work and attention to detail that the Aesthetics Media & CCR team bring to every event certainly carried over to the virtual space. We were especially proud to win the Distributor of the Year Award for the third year running, and we want to thank all the people who voted for us and their kind words of support during what has been the most challenging year for our company and many others. Thank you to the Aesthetics team for a wonderful day." Zain Bhojani, co-director of Church Pharmacy

“We were over the moon to win an Aesthetics Award in the innovation category for Morpheus8! We all got together at our London head offices to watch the Awards and then went out for dinner to celebrate! We thoroughly enjoyed the ceremony – it’s an event that brings everyone together to celebrate the successes and achievements over the past year. It was also an honour to sponsor ‘Consultant Surgeon of The Year’ and we congratulate Mrs Sabrina Shah-Desai on her well-deserved win! She’s also been doing great things with the Morpheus8 in her clinic.” Rosalie Nicholson, InMode UK marketing manager

“Younique Aesthetics Clinic streamed the Aesthetics Awards live from the rooftop garden of The Merchant Hotel, Belfast! We were joined by some of our fellow Northern Ireland finalists and invited the local media to join us in celebrating. During the evening festivities, we helped to raise £700 for the Glow NI charity which empowers women and girls with life skills and to also supports those who have suffered from domestic violence. The evening created a marvellous opportunity for those who work in the industry to socialise and get to know each other on a personal level as well as strengthen bonds between other clinics and build a stronger community.” Lesley McGarrity, senior operations manager

“We hired a penthouse suite at the Edinburgh Grand Hotel overlooking the city. We had the dinner catered and everyone from the team dressed up as if we were heading to the real event. Though they were not in-person, this year’s Aesthetics Awards were a great event. It provided us with the opportunity to bring our team together to celebrate the end of our enforced slumber and getting back to the work that we love so much.” Dr Nestor Demosthenous, aesthetic practitioner

“Although, of course, we wish it could have been an in-person event, the digital Aesthetics Awards ceremony was incredible and a huge success. All the winners, as well as those who received commendations and high commendations, were well deserved, and we of course have to thank our wonderful judges and sponsors. We can’t wait to see you at our in-person event next year!” Shannon Kilgariff, acting editor and content manager

See you at the ceremony in 2022!

Entries for the 2022 Aesthetics Awards will open on September 30 2021, so keep your eyes peeled for more details! We can’t wait to see you all again soon.

The ceremony will take place on March 12 after the Aesthetics Conference and Exhibition, so don’t forget to put the date in your diary!

The Aesthetics Awards 2019

It was a spectacular night of glitz and glamour at the prestigious Aesthetics Awards 2019. Professionals from across the specialty gathered at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge hotel in central London to celebrate another successful year with more than 700 attendees. Guests had their picture taken at the Aesthetics Awards pressboard, caught up with friends and colleagues, and enjoyed drinks and live music, before moving to the beautiful ballroom for a delicious three-course dinner.

Chloé Gronow, Editor & Content Manager of the Aesthetics journal and Aesthetics Awards judge welcomed guests to the ceremony, thanking the sponsors, judges, and voters for their support. She also introduced this year’s comedian and host, Tom Allen, compère Jon Briggs, the original voice of Apple’s iPhone assistant Siri, and the chosen charity of the year, the British Red Cross. Guests then enjoyed a hilarious comedy set by Tom Allen featuring bespoke aesthetic-related jokes that kept everyone entertained. Dr Nestor's Medical & Cosmetic Clinic, said of Allen’s performance, “Tom Allen is by far the funniest comedian we have seen over the last 5 years + of attending."

The Commended and Highly Commended finalists were then applauded for their achievements before Winners in the 26 prestigious categories were welcomed to the stage to collect their unique ‘A’ trophies and take their winners’ photographs.

The clinic categories were recognised for commitment to excellence in customer service, patient care, safety and evidence of good feedback from patients. Aesthetic companies were also awarded for their achievements, as were training providers and support partners.

Zain Bhojani, director of Church Pharmacy, was presented with Pharmacy Distributor of the Year. Zain said, “This year has been a challenging and interesting year, so winning this award means the world. It really is very special for us."

Finally, the highly anticipated practitioner categories closed the ceremony. The SpringPharm Award for Aesthetic Nurse Practitioner of the Year went to Jackie Partridge and Dr Jonquille Chantrey took home The John Bannon Awards for Medical Aesthetic Practitioner of the Year. She said, “I am just really deeply humbled by it so thankful."

Finally, to conclude the remarkable ceremony, The Outstanding Achievement in Medical Aesthetics was presented to a practitioner who has demonstrated commitment and passion for regulation, industry growth and patient safety. Aesthetic practitioner and founder of the ACE Group and director of Cosmedic Skin Clinic and Cosmedic Pharmacy Dr Martyn King. King said, “I am really proud and feel really special to get this, but this is not the end and I am not done just yet.”

Following the awards presentation ceremony, guests moved out of the ballroom to continue networking and dance the night away to a live band and DJ. Dija Ayodele, the founder of the Black Skin Directory, said of the evening, "The Aesthetics Awards are a chance to see and celebrate with colleagues who’ve worked hard all year! It’s also an opportunity to network and build relationships going forward.”

Denise Ryan, vice president of brand management at Celluma By BioPhotas, summed up the night, “Some of the top clinics and aesthetic practitioners are located in the London area and as a new manufacturer and device in the UK, we felt that it was a very important award to sponsor. This is certainly a great event so we will be delighted to be back in 2020! The Aesthetics Awards are fantastic."

Highlights video

Key Dates 2022/2023

  • 2023 Entries Open 31st July 2022
  • Entries Close 30th September 2022
  • Finalists Announced 3 rd January 2023
  • Voting and Judging Close 1st February 2023
  • Winners Announced The Aesthetics Awards Ceremony after the Aesthetics Conference & Exhibition 11th March 2023